Mission Statement:

“Creating Artists, Connecting Communities” is our purpose. Cedar Summerstock Theater invites college students from nationally recognized theater arts programs to collaborate with professional directors, local artists, and school-aged youth to produce award-winning Broadway musicals. Our stage provides a platform for unique educational opportunities, a showcase for deserving young talent to have professional production experience, and a seat for vibrant theater to audiences in northern Iowa and southern Minnesota.

Where we create artists and connections:

Mitchell County, the home of Cedar Summerstock Theater, is located in north central Iowa, within an hour drive from Albert Lea, Austin, and Rochester, Minnesota, as well as Mason City, Charles City, Cedar Falls/Waterloo, and Decorah, Iowa.

Productions are performed in the state-of-the-art auditorium at

the Cedar River Complex in the Krapek Family Fine Arts Center in Osage, Iowa.

Due to Covid19, our 2021 productions will be performed at locations that ensure the safety of our audiences and company members. Updates will appear on our website and Facebook pages. 

Rehearsals and production work are housed in South Square, a historic elementary school building

in neighboring St. Ansgar, Iowa.